Alcohol laws of Maryland vary considerably by county, due to the wide latitude of home rule granted to Maryland counties.
State laws
Underage possession, consumption, and furnishing It is illegal under state law for a person under the age of 21 to possess or consume an alcoholic beverage."Criminal Law §10–114(a)". Maryland General Assembly. Retrieved April 28, 2025.
It is illegal to purchase alcohol for someone under age 21 so that the underage person may drink it."MD Criminal Law Code § 10-117(a) (2024)". Justia Retrieved February 19, 2026.
It is illegal for an adult to knowingly and willfully allow an individual under age 21 to possess or drink an alcoholic beverage at a home where the adult lives, rents, or owns."MD Criminal Law Code § 10-117(b) (2024)". Justia Retrieved February 19, 2026. There are a few exceptions: It is legal if the adult and underage person are members of the same immediate family and the alcoholic beverage is provided and is consumed in the adult's home or the land immediately surrounding the home."MD Criminal Law Code § 10-117(c)(i)(1) (2024)". Justia Retrieved February 19, 2026. It is legal if the adult and the underage person are participants in a religious ceremony."MD Criminal Law Code § 10-117(c)(i)(2) (2024)". Justia Retrieved February 19, 2026. It is legal if the adult is an instructor teaching a course or program in wine-making, fermenting, brewing, or hospitality and tourism at a post-secondary educational institution; the adult remains in control of the alcoholic beverage; the underage person is enrolled in the class; the underage person is at least age 18; and the underage person tastes and then spits out the alcoholic beverage."MD Criminal Law Code § 10-117(c)(i)(2) (2024)". Justia Retrieved February 19, 2026."Maryland Code, Alcoholic Beverages and Cannabis § 1-411". FindLaw. Retrieved February 19, 2026.
It is a separate offense for an underage person to misrepresent age for the purpose of obtaining alcohol."Criminal Code § 10-113: Misrepresentation of age". General Assembly of Maryland. Retrieved July 17, 2020. It is also a separate offence for an underage person to possess any sort of card or document that falsely identifies the underage person's age."Criminal Code § 10-115: False documentation". General Assembly of Maryland. Retrieved July 17, 2020. An underage person who illegally possesses alcohol or false identification is subject to a citation rather than arrest, and the event is considered a civil offense, meaning that it does not count as a criminal conviction and cannot result in imprisonment in and of itself."Criminal Code § 10-119: Citation". General Assembly of Maryland. Retrieved July 17, 2020.
Employment A person must be at least 21 years old to be employed to serve alcoholic beverages or sell alcoholic beverages, although some counties have different laws."What is the age limit for a person to serve and sell alcohol in a retail alcohol beverage establishment?" Maryland Alcohol, Tobacco, and Cannabis Commission. July 24, 2024.
A person must be at least 18 years old to work in another capacity at an establishment that serves alcohol."MD Alcoholic Beverages and Cannabis Code § 3-503(a) (2024)". Justia. Retrieved February 19, 2026. If the business serves alcohol and food service is not the primary focus of the business, then the minimum age to work there is 21."MD Alcoholic Beverages and Cannabis Code § 3-503(2) (2024)". Justia. Retrieved February 19, 2026.
Open containers State law prohibits open containers with any amount of alcohol within the passenger area of a motor vehicle."MD Criminal Law Code § 10-125(a) (2024)". Justia. Retrieved February 19, 2026. Passengers of a vehicle are similarly prohibited from consuming alcohol in the passenger area, but the law provides exceptions for non-drivers in the back of hired vehicles such as taxis, limousines, and buses, as well as in the living areas of motor homes."MD Criminal Law Code § 10-125(c) (2024)". Justia. Retrieved February 19, 2026. The driver is also shielded from prosecution if it is based solely on another occupant of the vehicle having an open container."MD Criminal Law Code § 10-125(2) (2024)". Justia. Retrieved February 19, 2026.
The law defines an open container to be a container that is open, or whose seal is broken, or that has had some of its contents removed."MD Criminal Law Code § 10-123(j) (2024)". Justia. Retrieved February 19, 2026.
The law defines the passenger area as an area that "is designed to seat the driver and any passenger of a motor vehicle while the motor vehicle is in operation; or is readily accessible to the driver or a passenger of a motor vehicle while in their seating positions.""MD Transportation Code § 21-903(4)(i) (2024)". Justia. Retrieved February 19, 2026. The law states that certain areas are not part of the passenger area, such as "a locked glove compartment; the trunk of a motor vehicle; or if a motor vehicle is not equipped with a trunk, the area behind the rearmost upright seat or an area that is not normally occupied by the driver or a passenger of the motor vehicle.""MD Transportation Code § 21-903(4)(ii) (2024)". Justia. Retrieved February 19, 2026.
Like underage possession above, violation of the open container law is a civil offense."MD Criminal Law Code § 10-126 (2024)". Justia. Retrieved February 19, 2026.
Taxation In July 2011, Maryland's taxation of alcohol was increased for the first time since the 1970s, from 6percent to 9percent.Nathans, Aaron (July 9, 2011). "Del. package stores hope to benefit from Md. tax". The News Journal (New Castle, Delaware). Archived from the original on July 11, 2011. The tax is applied at the consumer level, appearing as a line-item on the customer's receipt.
County laws CountyAlcoholic beverage control countyAlcohol sale hoursGrocery Store SalesBeerWineSpiritsOn-premisesOff-premisesBeerWineSpiritsAllegany CountyNo24hrs at Rocky Gap Casino Only7a.m. – 2a.m., Monday – Saturday. 11a.m. – 12a.m. Sunday.NoAnne Arundel CountyNo6a.m. - 2a.m.NoBaltimore CityNo6a.m. – 2a.m.6a.m. – 12a.m. (Monday – Saturday)NoBaltimore CountyNo6a.m. – 2a.m.6a.m. – 12a.m. Monday – Saturday.NoCalvert CountyNoFollows state law.NoCaroline CountyNoTaverns selling beer and/or wine: 6a.m. – 12a.m.All other establishments, including taverns selling beer, wine, and liquor: 6a.m. – 2a.m.YesCarroll CountyNo8a.m. – 2a.m. Monday – Saturday. 8a.m. – 1a.m. Sunday.8a.m. – 11p.m. Monday – Saturday 11a.m. – 11p.m. Sunday.NoCecil CountyNo6a.m. – 2a.m. Monday – Saturday. 10a.m. – 11p.m. Sunday.6a.m. – 2a.m. Monday – Saturday. 8a.m. – 11p.m. Sunday.RarelyCharles CountyNo6a.m. – 2a.m. Monday – Saturday. 6a.m. – 12a.m. Sunday.NoDorchester CountyNoUnknownNoFrederick CountyNo6a.m. – 2a.m. Monday – Saturday. 11a.m. – 2a.m. Sunday.NoGarrett CountyNo6a.m. – 2a.m. Monday – Saturday. 6a.m. – 12a.m. Sunday.UnknownHarford CountyNo8a.m. – 2a.m.NoHoward CountyNo6a.m. – 2a.m.NoKent CountyNo6a.m. – 2a.m.12a.m. – 4a.m. on New Years' Day.UnknownMontgomery CountyYesRestaurants or taverns selling beer and/or wine: 9a.m. – 2a.m. Restaurants or taverns selling beer, wine, and liquor: 9a.m.–2a.m. Sun–Thu, 9a.m.–3a.m. Fri–Sat."Applying For a New or Transfer Annual Alcohol Beverage License in Montgomery County, MD". Division of Licensure, Regulation and Education. Montgomery County Alcohol Beverage Services. July 2024.If selling beer and/or wine: 6a.m.–1a.m. If selling spirits: 10a.m.–9p.m. Mon–Sat, 12noon–5p.m. Sun."Store Hours and Locations". Montgomery County Alcohol Beverage Services. Retrieved April 27, 2025.No (some grandfathered in)Prince George's CountyNoRetail: 6a.m. – 2a.m., except Sunday. Bars: 6a.m. – 2a.m.Beer and wine.Queen Anne's CountyNoUnknownNoSaint Mary's CountyNo6 a.m. - 2 a.m., including Sundays All yesSomerset CountyYesUnknownUnknownTalbot CountyNoUnknownYesWashington CountyNoUnknownNoWicomico CountyYesUnknownYesWorcester CountyYesUnknownYes
History Prior to 1973, the minimum age to buy or possess alcoholic beverages was 21 years old. In 1973, the minimum age was decreased to 18 years old in Montgomery County and Prince George's County. On July 1, 1974, the minimum age was decreased to 18 years old for the entire state."Beer At Drive-In, Bourbon After Dance Are Back". Baltimore Evening Sun. December 2, 1974. p. C4. In 1982, the minimum age was increased to 21 years old but with a grandfather clause which allowed those who had already turned 18 (born June 30, 1964 or earlier) to consume beer and wine.
See also Drug policy of Maryland Montgomery County Department of Liquor Control
Notes
References